Originally known as the Great Falls on Crabtree, this area was home to a succession of mills from the late 1700's (prior to the formation of Raleigh) and continuing for almost 200 years. In 1908 Cornelius Lassiter purchased the property and built a large operation for grinding grain and milling lumber that would continue until the building burned in 1959 (little did he know that his name, once given to the mill, would be picked-up for the surrounding streets and continues now on some of the most upscale development in Raleigh!) Today only the dam remains, filling the air with the sound of tumbling water and providing deep pools above the dam and swirling eddies with sandbar "beaches" downstream.
FTF honors go to lal11!
Long-time Raleigh residents remember the old steel bridge that use to span Crabtree creek just upstream from the dam, a popular jumping spot for teenage daredevils. The bridge was dismantled in the 1970's, with only a small piece remaining in the park as a reminder.
You are looking for a good-sized lock-n-lock - should be a quick find. After scoring a smiley, take the time to explore a bit - this is a neat area. Enjoy!