In Wisconsin, United States
How Geocaching Works
This cache is located a short distance from the road in a small park owned by Circus World Museum but not part of the museum itself.
Ladies and gentlemen, children of all ages…….
Welcome to the gem of Baraboo. The Ringling Brothers Circus was founded here in in 1884 by five brothers: Al, Otto, Charles, John and Alf T. Ringling. Their successful circus wintered in Baraboo until 1918, the year before it merged with the Barnum & Bailey Show (which the Ringlings purchased in 1907) to become the Ringling Brothers and Barnum & Bailey Combined Shows, the Greatest Show on Earth.
In 1954, a former attorney of the Ringling Brothers named John M. Kelley incorporated Circus World Museum with the intent of forming a museum of the Ringling Brothers Circus and circus history in general. This area on the north bank of the Baraboo River, known as Ringlingville, is home to the remaining structures of the original Ringling Brothers Circus Winter Quarters, which is now a National Historic Landmark. Circus World Museum opened to the public on July 1, 1959.
This cache was placed as a tribute to the great contributions the Ringlings and this museum have made to Baraboo. It is worth taking the time to explore the museum with all of its sights, sounds and smells.
The cache contains a gold dollar coin for the FTF as well as several small circus-related items. You are looking for a small pencil box.
Permission to place this cache was given by the management of Circus World Museum.
Orgjrra n ebpx naq n uneq cynpr.
Last Updated: on 6/9/2013 12:51:30 PM Pacific Daylight Time (7:51 PM GMT)
Coordinates are in the WGS84 datum