How Geocaching Works
Use of geocaching.com services is subject to the terms and conditions in our disclaimer
Tha cache container is a 2 litre cylinder.
Welcome to the "Hummocks" - estimated to be 150 million years old, the Hummocks were originally an island standing in a great lake which have become exposed since the last ice age. Although The Hummocks are on private property, they are clearly visible from the road.
When European settlement occurred in the region during the 1840s, The Hummocks formed the boundary of three extensive sheep runs – Retreat, Wando and Wando Vale. The owner of Retreat was informed that his property was to become a place for holding Magistrates Court by the Colonial Secretary of New South Wales in 1847. A slab hut was built at The Hummocks to serve as courthouse, with a stone police station and courthouse being built in 1849. The site was surveyed for a township, however the town never began and when Casterton was surveyed in 1852, the court and police were moved to that township.
With extensive serpentine deposits in the Hummocks, the Glenelg Shire Council began to quarry the area for road construction material in the 1940s. The owners of the land took the Shire to court and had the works stopped, ensuring the preservation of these unique hills.
During the summer months it is possible to ford the river and pass through the area. The road, marked as part of the Major Mitchell Trail, is situated just north of Wando Vale Hall and cuts through The Hummocks, before continuing through the Retreat and Dunrobin areas.
(No hints available.)
Loading Cache Logs...
Coordinates are in the WGS84 datum