A settlement is known to have existed here since 1654 as depicted by Blaeu’s map. Today there are 5 unroofed buildings, one enclosure and the head dyke. Two different types of gables ends are found on the houses. The rounded gables are an earlier construction and usually associated with a thatched roof while the square gables were used when corrugated iron became fashionable. The largest ruin has a small window in the left hand gable end above the place. This was used to give access to the eaves for the storage of boat masts during the winter months.
For more information on this area see the booklet ‘Discover the Ross...Bunessan and Suidhe – A Guide to Walks in the District of Bunessan’ available locally from the Ross of Mull Historical Centre in Bunessan, or the Ferry Shop in Fionnphort.
Please do not climb any fences on your approach to this cache and be aware of grazing livestock. It is part of the challenge to find a route using gates! It may be best to approach from the south, instead of the route by the pier and cemetery described in the booklet. Some more info about the township at Suidhe here: http://www.suidhe.co.uk/ Please note that it is a scheduled ancient monument. "Scheduling means that it is an offence for any visitors to the scheduled site to damage or disturb the designated area in any way. The use of metal detectors on the site is not permitted without written consent from the Scottish Ministers."