Frank McCourt Museum
The Frank McCourt Museum, in Limerick City, is a museum dedicated to the writer, and Pulitzer Prize winner, Frank McCourt. McCourt is most famous for his book 'Angela's Ashes', his memoir of his childhood in Limerick.
This Tudor-style, listed building, 'Leamy's School', was where Frank and his brothers received their early education. Leamy House (formerly known as Leamy School) is a Tudor style, listed building with an interesting facade, complete with tower, turrets, ornamental chimneys and splendid gargoyles carved in limestone and sandstone.
The central area of the museum is a faithful re-creation of the former classroom of the 1930's, with authentic desks and wall hangings. Visitors can imagine the young Frank and his friends sitting at these desks as the teacher 'beat the education into them'.
Two rooms have been turned into a museum and are a re-creation of the McCourts home in Roden Lane. Visitors can see first-hand the living conditions experienced by the McCourts and the other families who lived in the Lanes of Limerick.
The museum was officially opened by Malachy McCourt in July 2011 at Leamy House, Hartstonge Street, Limerick. This Tudor style building was formerly known as the Leamy School, the former school of Frank and his brother Malachy. The museum showcases the 1930s classroom of Leamy School and contains a collection of memorabilia, including items such as school books of the period and old photos, all donated by former pupils of the school.
The museum is open 7 days a week, for rates and opening times, please check their website below:
The cache is a magnetic micro and can be accessed outside of museum hours. If you are visiting Limerick, we strongly recommend a visit to this museum. BYOP.
Congratulations to fungusfun for being FTF!