Cache is made from a tree fern trunk contains a log book, pirate bio.
Unlike the other plantation Great Houses, Hermitage was a small wooden planter’s home. It was established before the introduction of sugar in the 1640’s; therefore, tobacco, ginger, and nutmeg were the initial crops. After its introduction, sugar was grown and processed in an animal mill below the main house, where a small boiling house was located.. The sugar cane was transported using a team of donkeys, which was very labour intensive. Archaeolgists have concluded that the Hermitage House was an “earthfast building” because the corner posts, made of lignum vitae, one of the hardest woods, were driven directly into the ground.
There is a stone carriage house next to the main house, a drip stone used to purify water, and a small cistern near the front of the house.
This cache was originally placed by Jim Johnson/WalkNevis, but the account has been transferred to the Nevis Ministry of Tourism to help preserve his original collection of caches placed on Nevis. Jim was a naturalist and guide who hid these well thought-out caches highlighting many unique natural and historical features on the Island. Cachers have told us that Jim’s caches are one of the best collections of caches by a single CO that they have encountered. Jim passed away in a house fire in 2010.
GCRL
.