New Page 1
Of Interest: Old
Slys is a double lock, named after an early settler in the area, William Sly,
who settled here in 1798. The CN rail line crosses the lockstation, a reminder
of the importance Smiths Falls once serves as a railway hub. What appears to be
a retaining wall below the road the crosses the locks, is actually the top of a
23 foot high dam (similar to that in Smiths Falls), placed in the main channel
of the Rideau River. In the latter part of the 20th century, the area between
the dam and the railroad was filled in. The Heritage House Museum is just a few
meters south of the locks.
This Cache is
on Parks Canada and PERMISSION IS GRANTED BY Mary Ann Steinberg
NO TRADE
ITEMS ARE ALLOWED
>
logbook. And enjoy the area a lot of history here
/>
FTF will
receive either a geocaching hat or small knapsack