Mills Gap
_______________________________________________________________________________
In 1734, John Mills acquired, from Virginia Lieutenant Governor
Gooch, 1315 acres of land near the southernmost gap in North
Mountain used as a crossing point by settlers traveling the old
Pack Horse Road, a former Indian trail from Shepherdstown to
Romney. Below the gap, Gerrardstown was settled on the same land
grant.
During the French and Indian War, native tribesmen crossed the
gap from the west and massacred local families in Gerrardstown.
Around 1769, John Mills Jr. opened and operated a tavern
frequented by travelers at the gap.
Today’s overlook at the crossroads is an irresistible stop
to appreciate the panoramic view of the Shenandoah Valley to the
east including farmland and orchards. Red bud, apple white and
peach pink dominate the color scheme in spring. At night,
it’s the city lights of Martinsburg. Continue along the trail
to the west to cross the lush and still sparsely settled Back Creek
Valley.
Location: Intersection of WV45 and 51.