In 1908 a Town clock complete with chimes was donated to the town
and installed in an imposing tower on the post office. In 1943 the
Ministry of Works recommended the clock tower on the post office be
demolished in the interests of public safety, the large structure
being perceived as an earthquake risk. The old post office still
stands today opposite the Triangle and is currently called
”Wild Roses”, a great place to have a look around.

This is the Post Office building in 1943 just before the Clock
tower was removed
Council were determined to build a new tower to house the town
clock and finally in 1954 after much debate about the site, the
town clock was set to be built at the town “Triangle”.
So the tower was erected to house the new electric clock with the
old bells and striking mechanism. The position of the clock tower
along with the Cenotaph makes it a focal point of the town for both
locals and visitors alike, to sit and relax.
Cache contains only a log book and small pencil. This is a
highly popular place so at times extreme stealth may have be used
to avoid detection.