Gravenhurst has seen a succession of 7 arches or gateways commencing in 1874 which welcome visitors who enter the municipality and Muskoka region from the south. The arch of 1874 was actually a double one of pine bows and flowers situated at present day Hotchkiss Street and Muskoka Road South. It marked the visit of Governor General the Marquis of Dufferin to the community. Gravenhurst gradually evolved from lumber frontier into a tourist point of transition. Commencing in 1875 visitors to resorts on the Muskoka Lakes could disembark from the trains brought by the newly installed track and switch to the lake steamers at the wharf. The second arch welcomed these train passengers and was referred to as the "Lumbermen's Arch." It was erected in 1885 by the then largest lumber operation in town, Mickle, Dyment and Son Limited. At that time Gravenhurst was known as "Sawdust City" owing to the large number of sawmills in the vicinity. Governor General the Marquis of Lansdowne was present. The arch was located at the wharf close to the current Muskoka Boat and Heritage Centre and the Mariott Hotel. The sixth arch, on Muskoka Road South, had to be dismantled in 2006 when the road was widened. To-days arch, the seventh, has retained the appearance and wording of the arch of 1925 for the sake of historical continuity. These gateways came to be associated with a freewheeling holidaymaker lifestyle, particularly in the 1950s when thousands of cars passed underneath. The present arch was officially inaugurated in August 2009. Enjoy Gravenhurst!