History of the track...
Fredericton Raceway and Exhibition began as the Fredericton Race Course grounds, and went on to become a fair ground upon the annual meeting of the Agricultural and Immigrant Society on February 19, 1827. The capital city hosted the provincial cattle show October 9 on these grounds, the first fair ever to be held in Fredericton.
The York Driving Club gave Fredericton a one mile track in 1863, during the time plans were being completed for the famous Exhibition Palace. The old one mile track was the first Maritime raceway to boast a 2:30 mile trot, recorded in the 1870's, the time when harness racing really began to gain popularity.
The Fredericton Park Association opened up a 1/2 mile track in 1877 on land leased from the Odell Estate. From that time on, harness racing became more significant in sporting enthusiasts lives. The Fredericton Park Association officially came together with Fredericton Exhibition Limited in 1922.
Walter Dale, a bay gelding from Maine, set a new national record of 2.02 1/2 on September 15, 1937 for a half mile track at the FREX.
This micro-sized container contains only a log sheet, so please bring your own writing stick. It should be winter friendly for most of the winter season.