Mrs. Rachel Ellis, wife of Mr. G.H.Ellis of the Leicester Mining and Railway Company, gave the fields to the residents of Oadby. She was the daughter of William Evans Hutchinson, director of the Midland Railway Company who lived at Oadby House. Mrs. Ellis opened the park to the public in 1898.
The nearby Drinking Fountain was originally located outside St. Peter’s Church on Leicester Road. It was put up to celebrate the Diamond Jubilee of Queen Victoria and moved to its present site to make way for the cenotaph, installed to commemorate the First World War.
Parking adjacent or nearby.
Please take a pencil, or preferrably a pen. Please replace exactly as found.