The original building is believed to have been built before 1899 and later remodelled for the purpose of cheese making. At one time, the curing room at the north end of the building was lined with shelves full of curing cheeses and cooled by blocks of ice cut from the nearby pond in the winter. Hydro was installed in 1930 and Sam and Margaret Hobbs purchased the factory in 1941. But even with electricity, cheese making was hard work, keeping 2 hired men and Sam Hobbs busy full-time. The washing was also a big job, and had to be done every day, since the men wore white clothing and aprons while working and everything had to be kept meticulously clean. This included all of the equipment that came in contact with milk. The enormous amount of water necessary for this was pumped from the nearby pond and heated in a huge cast-iron boiler encased with brick.