The Barochan Cross is one of only three complete free-standing crosses surviving from the early-medieval kingdom of Strathclyde. The cross dates from AD 900–1100. The Barochan Cross is the most ambitiously sculpted of the three.
The cross stands almost 2m high and is decorated on all four sides. Most of the decoration comprises panels of bold interlace with a key pattern. The cross was an overtly Christian monument, but its martial imagery is striking. It does not appear to have been related to a nearby church. It originally stood in a sheltered location beside a ford and close to a waterfall. In the 19th century, it was moved to the knoll opposite GZ closer to the village before finally being moved in the 20th century to Paisley Abbey where it now remains in order to protect it from further weathering
Haqre fznyy ybt naq ebpx orgjrra gur jnyy naq genpx ba gur tenff. CYRNFR QB ABG FRNEPU BE ERCYNPR VA GUR JNYY, VG VF ABG GURER.