J&D #5 is at the entrance area to the old Howstrake Holiday Camp. Now mostly in ruins and gated off.
The camp was first mentioned in the Advertising Guides in 1913. This advertisement read - "With our unique position as to site, our beautiful sea frontage, our enlarged and improved buildings, good catering, etc. we have much confidence in saying our Camp is second to none in the Kingdom. Illustrated "Camp Mirror", giving full particulars, sent free, on receipt of postcard. Address - M.G. Carrick". One cannot help but feel that Mr. Carrick's claim as to the standing of his camp was an overstatement as, at that time, the Cunningham camp in Douglas offered a covered swimming pool, (with tepid water), and an orchestra played at meals.
This cache loves crawling around in what was left of the buildings.
Please ensure that the container is tightly sealed when replacing thanks.