Popular place for campers at the Penguin Surf Club.
Also known as Bass & Flinders Reserve. With a dedication plaque situated there .
This cairn has been erected to commemorate the circumnavigation of Tasmania by George Bass and Matthew Flinders in 1798.
It is common belief that navigator Flinders landed near this site to take on fresh water.
Erected 26th January, 1984.