Until the 1970s, Addington was a major facility for the receiving and sale of livestock, with significant stock yards, races and loading platforms beside the track. It handled livestock traffic from as far afield as Marlborough, South Canterbury and the West Coast, with the proceeds of the sales destined for locations all over the South Island. Given the limited size of the lorry transport available at the time, it is understandable how the railways could compete with road transport for this type of traffic, even for relatively short distances.
One particularly sought-after source of livestock for Addington was the sheep of the Molesworth cattle and sheep station in Marlborough. From 1957 until about 1970, this livestock was driven to the railhead at Culverden (on the Waiau Branch line) then transported in several trains to Addington. In the last years of this traffic, there were in excess of 1,000 head to move, requiring a substantial portion of the cattle wagon fleet in the South Island.
Today, the passenger facilities are gone, but the site still retains a signal box, several loops and railsheds for the storage of rolling stock. Some of the old platform is still visible here. The land formerly occupied by the saleyards is currently a vacant lot.