This is a cache placed by the 3gs Mens Project to raise awareness of local history highlighting important locations roughly along the route of the Glamorganshire Canal diverting slightly along the way. This route now travels roughly where the Taff Trail runs. All locations are within a metre or two of the tarmac path making it suitable for all abilities.
The Graig Colliery was opened by the Thomas family. It was managed by Lucy Thomas. A visitor in 1840 observed ' Mrs Thomas - She may be called the mother of the coal trade................ sat in her office, a wooden hut near the pit's mouth and traded for cash placing in a basket, over her head the moneys she received for her coal. Her cleverness, witty tongue, her pleasant manner were known to all.......' Lucy ran the business from the pithead until she died in 1847 at the age of 65.