Fledborough station was opened in March 1897 by Lancashire, Derbyshire & East Coast Railway.
In 1922, three trains per day plied between Chesterfield Market Place and Lincoln with a market day extra on Fridays between Shirebrook North and Lincoln. All these trains called at Fledborough.
From 1951 trains stopped running through to Chesterfield, turning back at Shirebrook North instead. Otherwise the same pattern continued until the last train to stop at Fledborough on 17 September 1955.
Trains continued to pass, including summer excursions which continued until 1964, but the picture was of progressive decline. A derailment east of Fledborough Viaduct on 21 February 1980 led to the immediate closure of the line from High Marnham Power Station through Fledborough to Pyewipe Junction. The tracks were subsequently lifted.
Today the trackbed eastwards from the site of Fledborough Station, across Fledborough Viaduct, through Clifton-on-Trent to Doddington and Harby forms an off-road part of National Cycle Route 647 which is part of the National Cycle Network.
Fledborough still has both platforms fully intact and is a real hidden gem!