This virtual is a tribute to my mother's alma mater.
The building currently home to the Truro branch of the Colchester East Hants Public Library was originally a teacher training school – the Provincial Normal School, which later changed its name to the Provincial Normal College (1909) and then the Nova Scotia Normal College (1951). The school was established between Prince and Victoria Streets in 1855, and in 1857, a Model School was opened next door where teachers in training could practice. In 1878, the original school building was replaced with the brick building that still stands today. For 83 years, teachers were trained in that building, until 1961 when the school moved to a new campus on Arthur Street and was renamed the Nova Scotia Teachers College.

The Provincial Normal School was designed by German-Canadian Architect, Henry Frederick Busch (1826-1902), who practiced in Halifax from 1862 until his death in 1902. The three-storey brick building was designed in the Second Empire Style and constructed between 1877 and 1888.
Not only is the building iconic in Truro, but the legacy of the Normal College is widespread. For many years, it was the only school of its kind in Nova Scotia. It produced many influential teachers, and many prominent people attended the school such as John Stewart, a physician who was considered “The Pioneer of Modern Medicine in Nova Scotia” for introducing antisepsis to the province during WWI. Other notable attendees include Giantess Anna Swan (1846-1888) and Benjamin Christmas, the first Mi’kmaw to graduate from the Normal School.
Logging requirements:
1. Post a picture of you or a personal item in front of the building
2. What is written on the small silver structure under the window on the east side(facing Forrester St)
3. How many dormers are on the east side of the building?
4. What is the civic # above the front door?
Contact owner via GC or email answers.
Virtual Rewards 4.0 - 2024-2025
This Virtual Cache is part of a limited release of Virtuals created between January 17, 2024 and January 17, 2025. Only 4,000 cache owners were given the opportunity to hide a Virtual Cache. Learn more about Virtual Rewards 4.0 on the Geocaching Blog.