South Fork Borough was incorporated in 1887 at the "South Fork" of the Little Conemaugh River. Coal mines surrounding the town were the main source of employement. However, the steel mills in nearby Johnstown as well as the railroads that passed through the town, also offered many opportunities for the residents. The town once boasted 10 hotels, several banks, movie theaters, grocery stores, funeral homes, several churches as well as numerous mercantiles selling clothing and other essentials. The population reached over 4,500, but today has less than 1000 according to the 2020 census. South Fork suffered the same fate as many others in the area with the demise of coal mines and steel mills. However, the town has a rich history. Perhaps the most notable is the South Fork Fishing and Hunting Club that was built East of the town. Wealthy families from Pittsburgh would travel to the area by train to the large reservoir and luxury club house as well as the cottages located along the lake shore to escape the congestion of the city. In 1889, this dam failed sending the water down to Johnstown to create the Great Johnstown Flood. The water traveled through South Fork on its way to the town.
This cache is the bonus for the Adventure Lab - Welcome to South Fork. There is nothing at the posted coordinates. The coordinates for the final can be found after completing the Adventure Lab.
N 40 21.AB2 W 78 4C.DE8
Permission for the placement of this cache was given by the property owner.
Night caching is not recommended.
Parking is available along the street.
B.Y.O.P