Mildenhall Station was opened on 1 April 1885 and one of the fascinating features of the station is that it (and Isleham Station as well) looked identical to the station at Burwell. It was closed for passengers on 18 June 1862, and closed completely on 13 July 1964. An old view of the station and platform:
Compare a fairly recent aerial view and an old OS map of c.1904. The circular feature in both shows the position of the turntable used at the terminus of the branch line to turn the engines round.
This image shows the large goods shed at the Western end of the station which is largely unaltered on the outside except for the filling in of the railway openings.
The main station building now a private dwelling but largely unaltered. There are also two surviving railway cottages on the site (not shown):
This map shows Mildenhall Station as the terminus station on the Cambridge to Mildenhall Branch
For more information on SideTracked Caches please visit www.SideTrackedSeries.co.uk